Hebrew in the Public Schools 

Students love the opportunity to learn Hebrew, all within a strong community environment. Each instructor brings a deep passion for Hebrew while teaching about the culture behind this modern language. Students learn to speak Hebrew as if they were walking along the streets of Tel Aviv in Israel!  Click here to see what our teens say about their Hebrew classes! You can also hear from teens in this video that explains why they are taking Hebrew in their public school!

Are you a current Hebrew student? Become a Hebrew in the High Ambassador today! Hebrew in the High Ambassadors are student leaders who promote about the opportunity to take Hebrew throughout the community. Contact Sam Grobart at samuelgrobart@juf.org for more information!

Make sure to join our Facebook group for updates and more information!

Public Schools Offering Hebrew Classes

A variety of conversational modern Hebrew courses are offered in the following public high schools and middle schools in the Chicagoland area.

School Name Main Contact E-mail
Deerfield High School Yaffa Berman yberman@dist113.org
Evanston Township High School*
Glenbrook High School  
Segal Zamir
  szamir@glenbrook225.org 
Highland Park High School Hanna Pashtan HPashtan@dist113.org
Niles North High School Anna Raiber annrai@d219.org
New Trier High School Kimberly Hafron hafronk@newtrier.k12.il.us

Stevenson High School

Anna Gorbikoff agorbikoff@d125.org
 Caruso Middle School (Deerfield) Ossie Lichtenfeld olichtenfeld@dps109.org
 Shepard Middle School (Deerfield) Ossie Lichtenfeld olichtenfeld@dps109.org
     *Currently Online Courses and Independent Study
The Latest