Jewish Federation Annual Meeting honors community leaders

Andrea R. Yablon receives 55th annual Julius Rosenwald Memorial Award

am 2018 crowd image
Photos by Robert F. Kusel

The 118th Annual Meeting of the Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago was held Thursday, Sept. 13, at the Hilton Chicago.  Highlights included:

yablon rosenwald 675

Civic leader, businesswoman, and philanthropist Andrea R. Yablon received the 55 th Annual Julius Rosenwald Memorial Award, the Federation's highest honor, presented each year to an individual who has demonstrated a lifetime of outstanding dedication and service to the Federation and the entire Jewish community. 

Nasatir Speech 2018 675

In his final Annual Meeting as President, President Dr. Steven B. Nasatir delivered his popular State of the Federation report, reflecting on the accomplishments and challenges of the past year and going forward

Mandrea Turik 675

Marisa Helfgot Mandrea  and  Alex Turik  received the Davis, Gidwitz & Glasser Young Leadership Award, presented to volunteers age 40 and under who have demonstrated exemplary dedication and have made significant contributions to Chicago's Jewish community.

robbin sandalow 675

Elizabeth Robbin  and  Irene Lehrer Sandalow  received the 31st annual Samuel A. Goldsmith Young Professional Award, honoring Jewish professionals whose exemplary performance in their work at a Jewish agency in the Chicago area has benefited the entire Jewish community.

king harris shofar award 675

The Shofar Award was presented with gratitude to 2018 JUF Annual Campaign Chair King W. Harris.

hochberg zaransky 675

The Federation's annual Business Meeting and Members' Forum included the election of directors, and at the afternoon luncheon there was a formal passing of the chairman of the board's gavel from Michael H. Zaransky to Andrew S. Hochberg.

Connect with us

Sign up for our weekly newsletter featuring issues and events in the Jewish world.